Peace: We Can Achieve It

In honor of John Lennon’s 70th birthday (may he rest in peace), I wanted to write a post today about peace. The word means many things to many people, but what I mean is a condition of global nonviolence (toward people, and yes, toward animals). Peace is an essential belief to my religion, Tibetan Buddhism, which teaches adherents to be peaceful and compassionate to other sentient beings, and to themselves (described in the Sanskrit word “ahimsa”; “nonviolence”).

But though I’ve only very recently (three years ago) converted to Buddhism, I’ve always strongly believed in nonviolence. I was always the wide-eyed idealist who couldn’t understand why people had to fight; why they couldn’t all join hands and live in peace. Seeing how the world could really be as a teenager, and later, as an adult understandably made me a little jaded. I would often think “maybe people will always be cruel to each other and animals. Maybe it’s stupid to ever think it will change.”

Even though thought those kind of cynical thoughts still stick in the back of my mind, even today, I know that not only do I believe people can live in peace, I believe that we can spread the peace to our nonhuman brothers and sisters as well. And so, I’ll never stop protesting war, greed, and animal cruelty. Hey, to quote Lennon’s “Imagine”: “You may think I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one.”

My question is: do you all think peace is worth fighting for?

~ by lunacoyote87 on October 9, 2010.

3 Responses to “Peace: We Can Achieve It”

  1. Despite all the conflict out there, the truth is that most of us live peacefully with each other most of the time. That’s not to say we don’t have a lot of work to do. But peace is possible.

  2. This is one of the rare times I have seen a vegan talk about Buddhism and sound like they know what they are talking about. So often, I see vegans talk about Buddhism, and they could be talking in a foreign language to them, they throw around “jainism” or “ahimsa” and don’t seem to grasp the concept.

    You ever get the feeling there are those “vegans” who think animal rights is the new peace movement and spend all their time talking about it, but engage in less than peaceful behaviour towards everyone else, and then there are others who actually try and create a more peaceful world?

    As I say, “you dont fight for peace, you BE peace”.

  3. Awesome post! I have to try that out.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,015 other followers

